Luka Modric wins the Ballon d'Or 2018

Real Madrid's Croatian midfielder has ended the duopoly enjoyed by Cristiano and Messi for the famous award

Luka Modric, en la gala del Balón de Oro 2018
Luka Modric, en la gala del Balón de Oro 2018 | sport

Real Madrid's Luka Modric has won the 2018 Ballon d'Or. The Croatian midfielder ensures his name will remain in the history books after being named the best player of the year by 'France Football'.

Patricia Martínez

Modric's victory has been known for a while but that shouldn't take away from his achievements. He won the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid and finished as a runner up at the World Cup with Croatia. Cristiano Ronaldo finished second and Antoine Griezmann was third. Leo Messi was surprisingly relegated to fifth place.

This means Modric has put an end to Cristiano and Leo's dominance over the award. The two iconic stars had won the previous ten awards, with each taking home the prize five times.

The players in 30th-11th position were revealed throughout the day by 'L'Equipe' but it wasn't until the gala this evening where the final 10 places were revealed in order.


Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil