Stalemate at the Estadio Benito Villamarin, as Betis draw 2-2 with Espanyol

Betis and Espanyol effectively cancel each other out in a 2-2 draw

Stalemate at the Estadio Benito Villamarin, as Betis draw 2-2 with Espanyol
| sport

On Sunday, Betis and Espanyol were held to a 2-2 draw at the Estadio Benito Villamarin. Betis were looking to pick up points, following a 2-1 victory against Granada. Espanyol lost 2-1 in the last match they played against Atletico Madrid. As the table looks today, Betis are in 11th place on the table and has 6 points while Espanyol sit in 16th with 3 points after 5 matches.

Budgerigars started the first half well, with Aleix Vidal finding the net, at 16 minutes. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Willian Jose, 41 minutes in, brought Betis level. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Nabil Fekir just before half-time and seeing the first half out 2-1.

Espanyol took the initiative in the second half, thanks to Leandro Cabrera finding the net just before the final whistle. The game ended 2-2.

For Betis, Edgar Gonzalez, Victor Camarasa, Juanmi, Borja Iglesias and Andres Guardado, came on for Victor Ruiz, Rodri, Sergio Canales, Willian Jose and William Carvalho. Espanyol replaced Keidi Bare, Loren Moron, Wu Lei, Nicolas Melamed Ribaudo and Nany Dimata with Manu Morlanes, Oscar Melendo, Oscar Regano, Aleix Vidal and Raul De Tomas.

The referee booked Edgar Gonzalez, Andres Guardado, Claudio Bravo and Nabil Fekir from Betis and German Pezzella went off with a red card, while Espanyol's Manu Morlanes, Aleix Vidal, Adria Pedrosa and Raul De Tomas also received a yellow.

Betis will next travel to Osasuna, while Espanyol will face Alaves at home.

Technical card:
Real Betis:Claudio Bravo, Hector Bellerin, Victor Ruiz (Edgar Gonzalez, min.7), German Pezzella, Alex Moreno, Rodri (Victor Camarasa, min.65), Guido Rodriguez, Nabil Fekir, William Carvalho (Andres Guardado, min.70), Sergio Canales (Juanmi, min.66) and Willian Jose (Borja Iglesias, min.70)
Espanyol:Diego Lopez, Oscar Regano (Wu Lei, min.61), Sergi Gomez, Leandro Cabrera, Adria Pedrosa, Aleix Vidal (Nicolas Melamed Ribaudo, min.81), Sergi Darder, Manu Morlanes (Keidi Bare, min.46), Oscar Melendo (Loren Moron, min.46), Raul De Tomas (Nany Dimata, min.90) and Adri Embarba
Stadium:the Estadio Benito Villamarin
Goals:Aleix Vidal (0-1, min. 16), Willian Jose (1-1, min. 41), Nabil Fekir (2-1, min. 45) and Leandro Cabrera (2-2, min. 90)

Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil