Rayo travel to secure all 3 points in 2-1 victory against Athletic Bilbao

Home crowd left stunned by Rayo, as Andoni Iraola’s squad seals victory

Rayo travel to secure all 3 points in 2-1 victory against Athletic Bilbao
| sport

Rayo Vallecano enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Athletic Bilbao at San Mames Stadium on Tuesday. Athletic Bilbao arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Atletico Madrid in their previous game whilst Rayo were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-0 victory against Getafe. As the table looks today, Athletic Bilbao and Rayo are 6th, (9 points) and 4th, (10 points), spots respectively, after 6 matches.

Rayo started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with an early goal from Alvaro Garcia in the 5th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Pathe Ciss equalised for The Lions in the 33rd minute, which brought Athletic Bilbao level at 1-1 at the half time break

Rayo continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Falcao just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 2-1.

For Athletic Bilbao, Inaki Williams, Unai Vencedor, Alex Berenguer, Dani Garcia and Jon Morcillo, came on for Raul Garcia, Oier Zarraga, Iker Muniain, Mikel Vesga and Nicholas Williams. Rayo brought on Randy Nteka, Óscar Valentín, Falcao, Kevin Rodrigues and Bebe, to replace Sergi Guardiola, Pathe Ciss, Unai Lopez, Isi Palazon and Alvaro Garcia.

There were bookings for Unai Nunez, Iker Muniain and Inigo Martinez from Athletic Bilbao. For Rayo, Alejandro Catena, Sergi Guardiola and Nikola Maras saw yellow.

Athletic Bilbao will next play Valencia away, with Rayo facing Cádiz at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Unai Nunez, Inigo Martinez, Inigo Lekue, Nicholas Williams (Jon Morcillo, min.75), Oier Zarraga (Unai Vencedor, min.69), Mikel Vesga (Dani Garcia, min.75), Iker Muniain (Alex Berenguer, min.69), Asier Villalibre and Raul Garcia (Inaki Williams, min.63)
Rayo Vallecano:Stole Dimitrievski, Ivan Balliu, Nikola Maras, Alejandro Catena, Francisco Garcia, Santi Comesana, Pathe Ciss (Óscar Valentín, min.59), Unai Lopez (Falcao, min.76), Alvaro Garcia (Bebe, min.80), Sergi Guardiola (Randy Nteka, min.59) and Isi Palazon (Kevin Rodrigues, min.80)
Stadium:San Mames Stadium
Goals:Alvaro Garcia (0-1, min. 5), Pathe Ciss (1-1, min. 33) and Falcao (1-2, min. 90)


Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil