Frankfurt 1-1 Rangers (5-4): Barça's conquerors win the Europa League

Frankfurt 1-1 Rangers (5-4): Barça's conquerors win the Europa League

The German side won the final on penalties after a 1-1 draw after 120 minutes

Eintracht Frankfurt beat Rangers on penalties to win the Europa League in Seville on Wednesday after a 1-1 draw after extra time. 

Rangers took the lead through Joe Aribo in the second half but Frankfurt, who eliminated Barcelona on their way to the final, levelled with 20 minutes to play through Rafael Borre. 

After a goalless additional 30 minutes, the game went to penalties, and Aaron Ramsey's miss for Rangers allowed Borre to fire home the winner for the German side. 

It's the second time Frankfurt have won the Europa League -- they won it in its previous guise at the UEFA Cup in 1980 -- and it earns them a place in next season's Champions League. 

A quiet first half livened up after the break when a defensive mistake allowed Aribo in to open the scoring. 

That woke up Frankfurt up and following an intense period of pressure they equalised when Borre turned home a Filip Kostic cross. 

Rangers looked the more likely to win it in extra-time, with Ryan Kent denied by Kevin Trapp late on before the German goalkeeper kept out a James Tavernier free kick. 

The game went to penalties, with Tavernier, Steven Davis and Scott Arfield all converting for Rangers, before Ramsey missed to open the door for Frankfurt to win the trophy. 

Christopher Lenz, Ajdin Hrustic, Daichi Kamada and Kostic all converted for the Bundesliga side, teeing up Borre to score the winning spot kick.



Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil