Luis de La Fuente announces Spain squad for Nations League

Luis de La Fuente announces Spain squad for Nations League

| sport

The coach published his list for the final four

There was a lot of anticipation. After taking over the Spanish national team last December from Luis Enrique and presenting his first squad in March, Luis de la Fuente has announced the 23 names in his second squad for the UEFA Nations League finals. 

To try to win the tournament for the first time, Spain will first have to overcome Italy in the semi-finals at the Twente Stadion on 15 June. On the other side of the draw, the Netherlands and Croatia will also be battling for a place in the final. 

In his first match, he opted to bring in a number of new players. In fact, he only repeated 12 players from the squad Spain took to Qatar for the World Cup. 

With important absentees, such as Balde, who was injured in the Barça-Mallorca match, and Pedri, the coach has opted to call on new faces again.

Luis de la Fuente's squad for the Nations League finals is as follows:

Unai Simón, Kepa, David Raya, Carvajal, Jesús Navas, Laporte, David García, Le Normand, Jordi Alba, Juan Bernat; Rodri, Zubimendi, Fabián, Merino, Gavi, Canales; Morata Joselu, Rodrigo Moreno, Marco Asensio, Nico Williams, Dani Olmo and Yéremi Pino. 

One of the most notable new additions to the squad is Le Normand. The Real Sociedad centre-back obtained dual nationality in May and the coach has not hesitated to call him up. 

One of the lines that has undergone the most changes is the defence. In total, the coach has called up four new players, including the return of Jordi Alba and Jesús Navas on the wing. In midfield, Ceballos is the only player, minus Pedri due to injury, who is not in the squad. In his place comes Canales. 

Up front, Marco Asensio and Yéremi Pino, both of whom were also present at the World Cup, are back in the squad. In goal, Unai Simón returns. 

Topics with the letter