Ivan Rakitic: It was a clear penalty, if it's a hand it's a hand

The former Barca player bagged the spot kick but Madrid drew 2-2

Ivan Rakitic said the handball for his goal against Madrid in the thrilling 2-2 Liga draw on Sunday night was a clear penalty.

The Sevilla midfielder netted from the spot when Eder Militao handled the ball in Real Madrid’s area.

"For me it was a clear penalty, it was handball," said Rakitic. "We can talk about how I interpreted it, how you did or how the referee did.

"It’s a handball, it’s bad luck for them but the referee did the correct thing.

“Today it helped us and recently (VAR) didn’t help us at all. For me it’s quite easy. If it’s a hand it’s a hand. If it changes the direction of the ball and it’s going towards goal, for me there is no doubt.

“It’s fair. We were close to winning this game, we had a great first half and they were better in the second. We saw two of the best teams in the league and this is our objective, to fight with the best.”

LATEST EPISODE of SIEMPRE POSITIVO, the best FC Barcelona podcast in English

Temas

cerrar
Sport

SPORT.es

Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil