Getafe beat Elche 1-3 at Estadio Martínez Valero

This result earns Pepe Bordalas' team 20 points in the competition

Getafe beat Elche 1-3 at Estadio Martínez Valero
| sport

Elche were defeated at home by Getafe at Estadio Martínez Valero on Monday. Both sides arrived at the match from previous defeats in the league. Elche were looking forward to meeting again after losing their last game 1-0 to Athletic Bilbao. Getafe were beaten 0-1 in the previous match against Real Valladolid. As the table looks today, Elche are in 18th place, with 16 points from 18 matches, while Getafe sit in 12th, with 20 points from 18.

Elche started the first half well, beginning with early goal from Raul Guti in the 4th minute. However, they didn't maintain the lead for long though, an equalizer from a Marc Cucurella in the 39th minute brought Getafe level. The score at half time was 1-1.

Getafe continued to apply pressure the second half and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Jaime Mata, 69 minutes in. Later, Getafe took the lead with a goal form a penalty goal from Angel Rodriguez in the 86th minute just before the final whistle, sealing a resounding 1-3 victory for the away side.

For Elche Pere Milla, Omenuke Mfulu, Victor Rodriguez, Nino and Dani Calvo came on for Lucas Boye, Fidel, Raul Guti, Diego Gonzalez and Josan, while Getafe brought on Takefusa Kubo, Angel Rodriguez and Allan Nyom to replace Nemanja Maksimovic, Francisco Portillo and Damian Suarez.

The referee booked six players. Ivan Marcone, Nino and Emiliano Rigoni from Elche saw yellow cards and Ivan Marcone (2 yellow cards) sent off with a red, as well as for Getafe Damian Suarez and Carles Alena also seeing yellows.

Elche will next play Real Valladolid away, with Getafe facing Huesca at home.

Technical card:
Elche:Edgar Badia, Antonio Barragan, Gonzalo Verdu, Diego Gonzalez (Nino, min.68), Josema, Josan (Dani Calvo, min.68), Raul Guti (Victor Rodriguez, min.68), Ivan Marcone, Fidel (Omenuke Mfulu, min.56), Lucas Boye (Pere Milla, min.15) and Emiliano Rigoni
Getafe:Ruben Yanez, Damian Suarez (Allan Nyom, min.90), Erick Cabaco, Djene, Mathias Olivera, Carles Alena, Nemanja Maksimovic (Takefusa Kubo, min.64), Mauro Arambarri, Marc Cucurella, Jaime Mata and Francisco Portillo (Angel Rodriguez, min.81)
Stadium:Estadio Martínez Valero
Goals:Raul Guti (1-0, min. 4), Marc Cucurella (1-1, min. 39), Jaime Mata (1-2, min. 69) and Angel Rodriguez (1-3, min. 86)

Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil