Champions! Barça win Primera Iberdrola after winning all 26 of their matches

Barça have eight games to go and will now focus on ending season with 100 percent record

| sport

Barcelona have their first trophy in the bag. After Levante were held by Espanyol on Sunday, Lluis Cortes' side have been confirmed as champions of the Primera Iberdrola having beaten Tenerife Granadilla 1-0 earlier in the day.

Despite having three games in hand and eight to play in total in the league, Barça have wrapped up the title following 26 wins from 26 matches in the league this season.

It's the second consecutive season that the Blaugrana have won the title. Last season they were named champions after 21 games when the coronavirus pandemic cut the league short. They were nine points clear with nine games left.

Away from the fans

Barça learned of their title success in Tenerife, where they had played earlier in the day against Granadilla. They were at the team hotel and celebrated by jumping into the swimming pool.

The team will not be able to celebrate the success with their fans until May 19, when they host Athletic Club at the Estadi Johan Cruyff.

The treble

Last weekend, Barça overcame PSG to reach the final of the Champions League for the second time in their history. In 2019, they were beaten by Lyon, but this year hope to go one better when they meet Chelsea in Gothenburg on May 16 (a week Sunday).

If they win against the English side, they will just be a Copa de la Reina away from the treble. They're in the semifinal against Leganes, with the other half of the draw still including Levante, Madrid CFF and Atletico Madrid.



Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil