What referee Gil Manzano's report said about Leo Messi's red card

"Hitting an opponent with his arm using excessive force with the ball in play"

| sport

Lionel Messi returned from injury to start Sunday's Supercopa final but was sent off in the final minutes of the game for lashing out at Asier Villalibre.

Referee Jesús Gil Manzano didn't see the incident but VAR advised him what had happened and he revised the replay on the pitchside monitor before handing out the red card.

In his post-match report, Gil Manzano wrote: "In the 120th minute, the player (10) Messi Cuccittini, Lionel Andres was sent off for the following reason: Hitting an opponent with his arm using excessive force with the ball in play but not within distance to be played."

Messi did not protest the decision and will now have to see how long he is banned for, with any suspension likely to be served across the Copa del Rey and La Liga.

It was the first time Messi has even been sent off for Barça's first team and the fourth time in his career.

Temas

cerrar
Sport

SPORT.es

Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil