Referee Martínez Munuera involved in another questionable decision

Referee Martínez Munuera involved in another questionable decision

Araujo's overhead kick was ruled out due to an apparent foul by Braithwaite

Referee Juan Martínez Munuera has angered FC Barcelona fans once more. This time, for chalking off a Barça goal in last night's tie at the San Mamés for the softest of fouls. At the end of a first half in which Athletic had the better of the play - and the opportunities - FC Barcelona centre back Ronald Araujo found the back of the net with an overhead kick, but it was ruled out by the officials for an alleged foul by Martin Braithwaite.

From a dead ball routine, the Danish striker rose high above his marker to head the ball back across goal. Eric García then challenged for the second ball before it fell to Ronald Araujo, who put the ball in the net with an overhead kick. However, the referee ruled that the Danish forward had committed a foul with the initial header and the scoreboard returned to 0-0.

Braithwaite did little more than lean on his marker, but that was deemed enough by the referee for the goal to be cancelled.

Temas