Only two of the remaining eight teams have won the Champions League before

Barcelona and Bayern Munich have won the competiton five times each but PSG, Atlético, Leipzig, Atalanta, City and Lyon don't have one between them

Messi nos volvió a enamorar con este golazo | MEDIAPRO

The coronavirus outbreak has caused the Champions League format to change and that has opened the door up for a surprise winner. There's a very high chance that the winning team could be lifting the trophy aloft for the first time in their history. This is because only two of the final eight sides have won the Champions League before: FC Barcelona and Bayern Munich. Atletico Madrid, Leipzig, PSG, Atalanta, Lyon and Manchester City have yet to claim Europe's top prize.

Bayern and Barça have won it five times each. The Germans won it in 1973/1974, 1974/1975, 1975/1976, 2000/2001 and most recently in 2012/2013. As for Barça, they won it in 1992 for the first time before claiming four other triumphs in 2005/2006, 2008/2009, 2010/2011 and 2014/2015.


PSG have had the Champions League as their priority for a while now but they've never been able to get beyond the quarter-finals. Lyon and Manchester City have both reached the semi-finals.

The closest any of the six came to winning the trophy are Atletico Madrid. They've lost three finals. The first of which came against Bayern in 1973/1974, and the last two were versus city rivals Real Madrid (2013/2014 and 2015/2016).

The freshest faces in the competition belong to Atalanta and Leipzig. This is the German side's second time in the Champions League whereas it's the Serie A club's first venture in the competition. They will be hoping the lack of pressure will be a factor as they look to extend their unlikely runs to the final.


Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil