Koeman on Sevilla penalty vs. Madrid: 'We don't know what a handball is...'

The Dutch coach wants more clarity over what constitutes a handball offence

| sport

As expected, Barcelona coach Ronald Koeman was asked about the penalty given in Sevilla's favour as they drew 2-2 with Real Madrid at Valdebebas on Sunday.

At 1-1, Madrid broke and were awarded a penalty when Bono fouled Karim Benzema. However, VAR advised the referee that prior to the counter-attack, there was a possible handball in the box at the other end of the pitch. 

After reviewing the replays on the pitchside monitor, match official Juan Martinez Munuera ruled that Diego Militao had handled the ball and gave Sevilla a penalty, overturning his decision to give Madrid a spot-kick. 

"We've reached a moment where we no longer know what is or is not a handball," Koeman said when asked for his opinion on the decision.

The Barça coach added: "It's best I don't speak about referees, I have given my opinion and it has not changed. If Madrid feel wronged, that's their problem. The only thing, as a coach, I can say is that we've reached a moment where we don't know if it's handball or not."

Madrid scored a late equaliser to earn a point after Ivan Rakitic converted the penalty but coach Zinedine Zidane was left fuming about the penalty call.

"I'm very angry," the French coach said to Movistar. "You'll have to explain the handball rules to me. I spoke to the referee and I asked for an explanation. He said it was a handball by Militao, but the other one [an earlier handball appeal against Sevilla's Joan Jordan] wasn't... I don't like to talk about referees but today the feeling isn't good."

NEW FC BARCELONA PODCAST IN ENGLISH

Temas

cerrar
Sport

SPORT.es

Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil